OVO – Cirque du Soleil in Brisbane

When I was 14 a travelling circus set up camp in a big park just down the road from my house. There were all sorts of animals including lions, horses, dogs and elephants. For a few weeks I would have to walk past their cages set up in the park to get to school in the morning. One evening my family and I walked down the hill and went to see the circus. The trapeze artist twirled, the clowns honked their horns, the elephants stood high on their back legs and performed their tricks, the lions roared, and the crowd cheered. So did I. But walking home that night I quietly decided I wouldn’t go to see another circus that included animals. It just didn’t seem right.

Why am I telling you this sorry little tale? Because I LOVE the circus. And back then when you say you’re not going to see a circus with animals in it, it wiped out a lot of options. But thankfully these days there are a number of circuses travelling the world with incredible talent, and the pinacle of these is Cirque du Soleil.

AND THEY ARE COMING TO BRISBANE!

After years of hearing of their shows and watching their TV specials I am very much looking forward to seeing Cirque du Soleil perform in their massive yellow and blue big top. This new show is based specifically around the world of insects. Who needs real animals when you have amazing circus performers dressed up as creepy little critters?!

Here’s a bit of info about the show:
Since its world premiere in 2009, OVO has visited more than 15 cities in Canada, United States and Mexico, delighting over 2 million spectators. Brisbane will host the opening of the 2012-2013 OVO Australian tour.

OVO, meaning “egg” in Portuguese, is a headlong rush into a colorful ecosystem teeming with life, where insects work, eat, crawl, flutter, play, fight and look for love in a non-stop riot of energy and movement.

When a mysterious egg appears in their midst, the insects are awestruck and intensely curious about this iconic object that represents the enigma and cycles of their lives. It is love at first sight when a gawky, quirky insect arrives in this bustling community and a fabulous ladybug catches his eye – and the feeling is mutual.

The cast of OVO is comprised of 54 performing artists from 16 countries specializing in many acrobatic acts. One highlight of OVO is the stunning Flying Act in which a group of scarabs soar high above the stage, from both edges to the middle landing on a platform. This breathtaking act combines many circus disciplines: banquine, Russian swing and swinging chair.

You can get tickets at the Cirque du Soleil website. I can’t wait!

[I have been given tickets to see this show – I’ll give a little update on this post after I see the show!]

