Mummahood – spending time with the kidlet

I absolutely enjoy being a mumma and spending time with my daughter, but quite often, especially recently, I get home from work and collapse on the couch, exhausted. Last week I got to enjoy a whole week of annual leave with no real plans, something I don’t think I’ve ever done before. It was so refreshing and reminded me just how much I enjoy spending time with the little tyke.

She is truly a beautiful person. She is kind and gentle and always thinks of others. She will quite often break into song – and now knows the words and actions to at least 15 different nursery rhymes, some a few verses long. She plays with trucks and dolls, paint and crayons. She’s right into imaginary play now and will quite often have conversations with her rubber ducks in the bath. She is gentle with our cats. She will offer to help me cook porridge or cakes and will help put away the ingredients when we’re done. When we are out she will make eye contact with all sorts of people and say ‘hi’, smiling broadly with her chubby cherub cheeks and brilliant blue eyes. She almost always is talking.

And I love it all.

I never thought I ever wanted to be a stay at home mum, but after this annual leave I’ve contemplated it. But, in my heart, I know that I would go stir-crazy. There needs to be balance, for me. I love being a mum, but I also love being my own person.  So when I am at home playing Mummy,  I’m so glad I get to spend the time with a pretty awesome little kid.

