Wednesday Morning, 3am – Simon and Garfunkel

She is soft, she is warm,
But my heart remains heavy,
And I watch as her breasts
Gently rise, gently fall,
For I know with the first light of dawn
I’ll be leaving,
And tonight will be
All I have left to recall.

I’ve listened to Simon and Garfunkel since childhood – I adore the close 2-part harmonies and silken tenor voices. But I’ve only recently stumbled across this song and it has definitely become one of my favourites.  There is something very beautiful about this song. It seems simply to be a love song – soft and tender. It conjures up those beautiful private moments you share with your partner –  witnessing them in restful sleep is so calming and intimate. But by the end of the song you learn more about the man who is sharing this tale and it comes as a surprise after the tenderness he shows to his young love.

I am hooked on this song.

